Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

Act of Valor (2012; Rated Rated R)

 Act of Valor
C
 

“The special ops missions are pretty amazing, but the SEALS as dramatic characters are under-developed.”

-Richard Roeper

 Act of Valor Review

Act of Valor

(2012; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 24 February 2012

Genre:
Action, Adventure, Thriller

Cast:
Alex Veadov, Roselyn Sanchez, Nestor Serrano

COMMENTS(12)
 
Post a Comment
 

Dave said on Thursday, October 04, 2012 11:06:25 AM
Believe it or not, it's already on Netflix. Just watched it and I have to say I'm so glad I didn't pay money for it. I'm as patriotic as many of you, but this is a crappy movie. It is painfully obvious these guys are talented operators but awful actors. You can think a movie is awful and maintain your respect for those who risk their lives to honor their country. Stop attacking the reviewer and be more disappointed in the director who should've known better!

Papa2 said on Tuesday, March 06, 2012 11:46:15 PM
Mr. Roeper thank you for being fair and honest when it came to reviewing act of valor (it must have been a hard one to review) unlike all these people my cousin name was on that line of credits and have seen first hand how these guys operate. That being said the plot was bad there is no question about that ,but was it the the SEALs fault? No of course not they where given a subpar script because of subpar directors so I will not fault the SEALs. It would have been better if they had a been given better direction and a plot that was not pulled out of a video game plot. You can have your cake and eat it. I will not stand for subpar movies either. If everyone would really sit down and stop looking at the movie in a non bias way they would see that SEALs did great at what they do best and the directors failed at what they should have been good at.

RICH said on Tuesday, March 06, 2012 7:06:26 PM
GOOD REVIEW BUT I THOUGHT THEY ACTED WELL

S said on Friday, March 02, 2012 7:33:53 PM
It is understandable to hear the characters are lacking in development and folks aren't connecting with them; it follows from too much realism (although not at the pace of the movie). We now live in an age where Hollywood defines reality rather than vice-versa...

Chris said on Wednesday, February 29, 2012 1:49:45 PM
I have to agree with the review purely based on my own thoughts of the film. I read the book Act of Valor about 2 weeks ago not even knowing about the movie. I guess I should have known better but I hoped the movie would bring the developed characters and fascinating details of the SEALS and covert ops from the book. As I left the theater, it was then I noticed the recruitment literature. This review was fair and I detect no disrespect on his part. People would be more entertained and better informed by reading the book, it costs the same as a ticket. Being former military myself, I can just picture those SEALS/actors getting ribbed by their fellow frogmen for hammy acting. Honorable men nonetheless.

George said on Monday, February 27, 2012 3:21:38 PM
I honestly liked the movie, but understand your rating due to the somewhat stilted acting and plot. I also have to say that seeing the authenticity of the service members, the equipment, and the procedures is a great change of pace. I hate when an otherwise great movie falters when they use incorrect uniforms, lingo, etc. Hopefully other movies will made in the same vein as Act Of Valor but with more refined stories and better acting.

Reply from Richard Roeper
George,

Thanks for your feedback. Much appreciated.

One of the things I admired about "Act of Valor" was its attempt to be as authentic as possible. Obviously it helps when the stars of your movie are also the ultimate authorities! If the script had been a little more sophisticated and a few of the SEALs had been played by professional actors, I believe the film would have packed more of a dramatic punch.

I've learned over the years that whether a movie is about heroes such as the SEALs or civilians working in every profession imaginable, the people who actually perform that job for a living will be able to pinpoint many inaccuracies. I'm constantly getting emails from teachers, cops, lawyers, doctors, football players, etc., saying, "It would never happen like that." There's no way a two-hour, fictional movie can perfectly capture anybody's chosen field. Even documentaries are often criticized for taking shortcuts or showing only one point of view or neglecting to show certain details.

Best,

Richard

P.S. I'm looking into the other thing you mentioned in your email, regarding the introduction to the film and the soundtrack.







Nate said on Monday, February 27, 2012 1:34:45 PM
I thought the movie was amazing. The acting was rough but when the SEALs were getting down to business and giving briefings, communicating on operational issues, and communication while operating I think the acting was great. That being said, it was also like the training environment for them, so you saw the real person. When there were scenes of dialog about family etc, you could tell it wasn't real to them. The film was amazing to me because the action and the technical aspects were so authentic, from the gentle squeeze of the shoulder before they enter and clear a room, to the way they move, communicate, use thier equipment. It was phenomenal and as a two time combat vet with the Army, it evoked the physical and emotional responses no other war move has ever done. The end was poignant and somber. This movie will haunt me for a while. Nate

Jake Stone said on Monday, February 27, 2012 10:14:51 AM
I am going to see the film this week. Would you agree in saying there may not be a perfect military film the pleases the viewers, the academy and the military al at once. For example Battle: LA had flaws wich made critics hate it, but the marines loved how the movie acuratly portrayed marines. As opposed to The Hurt locker wich critics and the academy loved the drama and suspense but the military and EOD teams everywhere shouted out how inacurate thier procedures and techniques were shown. Can there be a military film that gets everything right? Please respond.

Terry Peck said on Monday, February 27, 2012 2:47:18 AM
While I don't disagree with your review, I have to emphasis that, I think that the point IS to show these anonymous warriors in this fashion. As a combat veteran of Iraq, and the youngest of several generations of U. S. Combat veterans, I firmly feel this film is the most realistic, and accurate portrayal of American servicemen, their actions and their behaviors. It is everything that the Hurt Locker wasn't, and I am thankful for it. On a side note, I enjoyed the veiled insults these warriors included in their dialog. While critics mock the "cliched" dialog, its obvious they missed the sarcastic point. The dialog is real, and is delivered in a manner lost on the critic, to be enjoyed by fellow combat veterans. Plus, the combat scenes are damn near real. Damn near a documentary.

Reply from Richard Roeper
All due and great respect to our Navy SEALs and other great American heroes who fight for our freedoms, I cannot and will not review a movie based on the subject matter and not the quality of the film itself. That would be insulting to the viewers and even to the subject of the film.

I stand by my review, and EVERYTHING I said in it--including my praise for the SEALs.

All the best,

Richard

Carlos said on Sunday, February 26, 2012 9:49:47 PM
Guess we the public don't have your refined taste. Most of us licked act of valor which you trashed and hatted valley of Elijah which you loved.

Generally, if the critics love it, I skip it and it's served me well.

Glad you dont have a job where being right matters!

 
Comments: 1 - 10 of 12

1 2 |
   Page: 1 of 2
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
WeatherTech
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS