Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Garrett Popcorn
 

Argo (2012; Rated Rated R)

Argo
A+
 

“'Argo' is one of the best movies of the year.”

-Richard Roeper

Argo Review

Argo

(2012; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 12 October 2012

Genre:
Drama, Thriller

Cast:
Ben Affleck, Bryan Cranston, John Goodman

COMMENTS(7)
 
Post a Comment
 

Derek Sheets said on Sunday, February 24, 2013 11:58:14 AM
Better movie than Zero Dark Thirty

Jonathan said on Friday, November 16, 2012 12:52:44 PM
Despite obviously knowing how the story ends,this movie had me at the edge of my seat. Affleck handles the material spledidly, and nothing in the movie felt tacked on. Great performances also. One of the year's best for sure

Budy Buddy said on Thursday, November 15, 2012 2:06:59 AM
I'm not really understanding why Argo has such a high review rating. I liked the movie, but it was rather boring after the hostage takeover. The final 20 minutes were also interesting and suspenseful, but overall I don't feel this movie is as good as the ratings suggest. There was really no character development at all for the six at the Canadian ambassador's house. This movie really should have hit their situation harder, maybe detailed their fears more, and given more of a need for them to get out. You never get the feeling that they are in much danger of being caught.

I'm definitely not saying I didn't like the movie, I just feel it shouldn't have as high of ratings as it does.

Christina said on Thursday, November 01, 2012 12:20:33 AM
I loved this movie. I was a small child when the Iran hostage thing was happening and recall the news footage used in the movie, but didn't really understand the big picture. So wonderful to have the context filled in now. I loved everything - the story, the characters and especially the Hollywood guys. I would see it again tomorrow, and probably will. Perfect combination of learning about history and being entertained at the same time. I doubt any movie in the next three months will top this one - I'm pretty sure it's my favorite movie of 2012

Chris said on Wednesday, October 24, 2012 3:22:32 PM
Let's go Affleck, brotha! Here's hoping we can put Daredevil behind us...

Scott Van Well said on Wednesday, October 17, 2012 2:07:47 AM
Argo is a well acted and directed film. If I had a top 10 list, this would be my number 1. This might be Ben Afflec's best film. Best Picture and Director Oscar noms,ought to be considered.

Mark said on Sunday, October 14, 2012 1:50:55 PM
Hey Richard,

I agree. This is one of the best of the year so far (number 2 for me, behind Beasts of the Southern Wild, a movie I wished you had reviewed).

I had a question. While I don't doubt this movie will get many oscar nods, I was wondering if you thought the academy would notice it for costume design. Normally, they go for old school stuff (or fantasy), but I was wondering if they would go for it here.

Mark

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS