Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Garrett Popcorn
 

Blue Valentine (2010; Rated Rated R)

Blue Valentine
C+
 

“Disappointing performances from the talented cast. Predictable plot arc.”

-Richard Roeper

Blue Valentine Review

Blue Valentine

(2010; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 31 December 2010

Genre:
Drama, Family, Romance

Cast:
Ryan Gosling, Michelle Williams

COMMENTS(15)
 
Post a Comment
 

mike said on Saturday, May 25, 2013 4:42:28 PM
Response to AJC, she wasn't just a bitch on the surface. Was she not pregnant with someone else's child (everyone seems to overlook this point). Who Ryans character loved as his own, even married her while she was pregnant. If he was fully focused on a career i'm sure her character wold have been acting bitchy about him not being around enough. I saw her character as typical person who's never going to be happy with anyone. couldn't stand her. Well played by Williams.

George said on Saturday, February 05, 2011 9:36:11 AM
I appreciated the review and agree with much of what was said, but still enjoyed the movie as a fairly accurate depiction of the crazy twists and turns of a relationship...with some poignant moments (esp. the one of the impromptu song-and-dance number in the storefront)...This movie brought back memories of some of the good/bad moments in my own dating relationships, and I bet the people who liked it had the same reaction!

Flusa said on Wednesday, January 26, 2011 7:57:57 AM
I could not agree more with Richard! The movie was a drag and a bore and I basically forced myself to even finish watching it. The characters were boring, one dimensional blank papers, I did not care for any of them, nor had any desire to learn more about them. What people do not seem to grasp is that it was NOT the movie subject that made this movie suck. It was not like, oh, this movie about people falling out of love, no good ending therefore it sucked. No. It sucked because it violated something and it was probably because the characters sucked big time. Boring, tedious movie. I'd say stay away.

Sara said on Monday, January 24, 2011 12:14:10 PM
Richard, you've been one of my favorite movie critics for many years, and you definitely handled the prior reviews with class. Had it been me, I would have been sorely tempted to tell them "well if you don't like MY opinion, why don't you go check what Ben Lyons thinks about it!" Just me. We all differ on opinions about things, but some people take it a little too far sometimes.

Darin Grant said on Friday, January 14, 2011 1:45:17 PM
OK, everyone, just stop. Please. (That includes you Christian and Grant.)

Richard is, without question, one of the best film critics out there and has been since he started...but, guess what? I did NOT agree with him about Blue Valentine! And, guess what, that DOES NOT...AT ALL...mean he is a bad, irrelevant reviewer of films.

For goodness sake, some people in this world, they sound like little 2 year-olds crying. GET OVER it. Not everyone likes The Godfather, LOTR, The Dark Knight, Taxi Driver, Goodfellas, Pulp Fiction...I could go on. The fact that we all have different tastes in film proves that we are human beings and not just clones of one another. All of you trolls need to just give it a rest and take up a sewing class instead. We, the world AND Richard, will all be better for it. Thank you.

P.S. I thought Blue Valentine was one of the best films of the year with Academy-award performances by Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams and heart-renching realization. Richard did not. Great! Different opinion, for once. I like variety. Richard is still my personal favorite film critic, not because we agree on everything, but because he shows incredible perseption on movies and has proved he is. May you continue to make insightful, deep, and great reviews of films, Richard. Rock on, my man!

News Hit said on Thursday, January 13, 2011 2:00:26 AM
I just wanted to thank Mr. Roeper for allowing some of the other comments on his website. Sometimes, critics are insecure about allowing such antagonistic responses on their sites, and the fact that he not only allowed these comments but responded to them with some sensitivity is a pretty cool move.

Brian said on Tuesday, January 11, 2011 1:14:28 PM
Mr. Roeper,

These guys don't know what the hell they're talking about. You're right on the money with this film and although I may disagree with you from time to time and may even get a little miffed at some of the reviews you give you're still one of the best around.

Respectfully,

BRIAN

AKenjiB said on Monday, January 10, 2011 7:58:51 PM
Don't listen to them Richard. I have not seen this movie, but I have disagreed with you other times with movies like The first lord of the rings and Fracture. However, unlike some people, I understand that opinions are gonna vary. For example, I find the movie Black Hawk Down to be really overrated, but lots of people like that movie and I respect that. My all time favorite movie is Fight Club and Roger Ebert gave that a negative review. I don't think that makes him a bad critic though.

Keep up the good work. You're a good critic. You speak your mind.

Alex

AJC said on Monday, January 10, 2011 3:03:57 PM
I thought this film was amazing. I'm a little exhausted by the indie documentary look that all indies seem to have, but I thought it really worked for this film because the story was intense and realistic.

I see where you are coming from about the "unbelievable" characters- but really only to an extent. Cindy on the surface looked like a "bitch" and in reality a lot women are forced into that attitude. Especial when one finds themselves repulsed by their partners habits- habits that they knew about before getting serious, but ignore when they fall in love or are under the impression that they can deal with it. Also when you find yourself in a relationship with someone who basically loves you more than you love them. It's a tragedy, and that's what I thought Blue Valentin was.

Kris said on Sunday, January 09, 2011 2:46:37 PM
Good for you Richard! That's always been the thing that I've admired about you. Regardless of how many emails and comments you get about how "you couldn't be more wrong" and "how bad a critic you are", you continue to state your opinion. Apparently everyone out there in movieland forgot what it means to be a film critic. (You already know this though)You give your OPINION about a film and people can take it or leave it. For some reason everyone out there gets bent out of shape when you talk bad about their favorite movies and in my opinion, that's what makes you a GREAT film critic. That's what it's all about, not caring what other people think. Keep up the reviews cause I can't get enough of them :) Take care Mr. Roeper.

 
Comments: 1 - 10 of 15

1 2 |
   Page: 1 of 2
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS