Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

Brothers (2009; Rated Rated R)

Brothers
A+
 

“The best movie of the year.”

-Richard Roeper

Brothers Review

Brothers

(2009; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 4 December 2009

Summary: A young man comforts his older brother's wife and children after he goes missing in Afghanistan. Based on Susanne Bier's film, "Brothers".

Genre:
Drama, War

Director:
Jim Sheridan

Cast:
Tobey Maguire, Jake Gyllenhaal, Natalie Portman

COMMENTS(17)
 
Post a Comment
 

Marius said on Tuesday, August 14, 2012 9:56:32 PM
Who the hell are these new generation of aotcrs? They all look like some dude in Twilight. I can't tell them apart anymore. Does this guy really think he's the next Brad Pitt or something that is agents have the audacity to demand more money? The age of the movie star is dead. Gone are the days when a household name brand star makes $25 million per film. Hollywood has raised a generation of forgettable mama's boys whose careers are just a fly-by-night flash-in-the-pan. Here today, gone tomorrow. No staying power. There are no more strong leading aotcrs that can carry a blockbuster film let alone an iconic role anymore. Hollywood is in serious trouble right now. Where are the Steve McQueens, the Clint Eastwoods, the Harrison Fords, the Kurt Russells, the Schwarzeneggers, the Stallones, the Willis's of today? They don't exist. Guys like Christian Bale who has worked consistently in the business all his life is in danger of extinction. Now you have guys like Sam Worthington who comes out of nowhere one day and instantly suffers from publicity overexposure. Hollywood is trying desperately to forge new stars. Maybe they should stop trying to ween the tween generation and go back to some good old fashioned moviemaking.

Sara said on Saturday, January 22, 2011 1:48:31 PM
I just can't get over how this didn't get serious Oscar attention. This was one of the best movies of 2009, and Tobey Maguire's shining moment as an actor. I seriously didn't know that Tobey had that kind of performance in him. He was astonishing.

Christopher Zeidel said on Saturday, January 02, 2010 12:30:15 AM
I have now seen Brothers and I enjoyed it. The three lead performances are all very good, especially Maguire. Maguire is not only convincing, but he made us care about his character and the pain he suffered from. Sam Shepard is also good. Another good performance came from the little girl that hated her father; I don't know the actress's name, but I very much felt for her.

I know a lot of critics felt it was overly melodramatic, but I disagree. It never went overboard with its drama, and was convincing all the way though.

Brian toomey said on Saturday, December 26, 2009 8:38:37 PM
You were lost and now you are found! Just watched my Blu-ray
of "District 9" and read some reviews on Amazon.com. Someone
remaked that the critics were not kind to this movie so I did some surfing and found Richard Roeper's web-site. Yes Richard I have bookmarked your site and will view you weekly. The best, Brian

Eli boley said on Sunday, December 13, 2009 9:59:58 PM
All right Richard! so glad to see you doing Video reviews. I just saw this movie last night and Thought it was Outstanding, If this film does not get any oscar nominations I will eat my face. lol.

Neil Brown said on Thursday, December 10, 2009 5:43:14 PM
When it comes to music I never take a critic's opinion. Especially with rock,jazz,hip hop. But when it comes to movies, you and Ebert never let me down. You give a great insight into what we should expect, and I often enjoy the movies your recommend. I may see Brothers tonight, although luke warm reviews from others, and the possibility that I seen too much of the preview. I'm sure I will enjoy your latest suggestion. Cheers, Neil Brown

JhavaJoe said on Tuesday, December 08, 2009 2:17:00 AM
I felt the same. I am very shocked the overall reviews
didn't rate it that high (oh well). Toby Mcquire was
exceptional. All the elements what make kids go mad
are in Sam Shepard's personality (his role). People
have ranted for years about the need for relevence.
With thousands if troops coming home (hopefully) , there is no more relevant a film as this,and to have done so without a hint of condescension. It was as if the ensemble cast knew it was a call to their highest efforts
in their craft for a subjsct so important. That movie
was simply a cut above. BTW, good straight forward review.

Tony said on Monday, December 07, 2009 3:39:53 AM
Glad to see you're doing video reviews again. All is finally right in the world! :) Seriously, keep it up!

Christopher Zeidel said on Sunday, December 06, 2009 2:16:42 AM
I have not seen Brothers, but want to see it badly. It looks great.

Natalie Portman has not made a good film since V for Vendetta, and has not made a truly great film since Closer. It is about time. She is talented, but unfortunately made too many mediocre and bad movies. I don't know what I will think about Brothers once I get a chance to see it, but something tells me it will be worth it.

Steve said on Sunday, December 06, 2009 12:28:38 AM
Thanks so much for your review Richard; I thought you were spot on! I absolutely loved the movie. It struck an emotional chord with me and I was deeply moved by it. It was also funny and entertaining and very sad and powerful. I was stationed in Iraq once when I was in the military, so I felt that I could relate to some of the things the characters went through (though I'm not saying that I experienced anything near as upsetting as what was shown in the movie). Accurate or non-accurate. Realistic or non-realistic aside; this was a powerful movie with awesome acting. I thought all the leads deserved Oscar-nods. Even this year's fav Carey Mulligan gets a cameo (god, what a great actress--she did An Education, then this movie--I can tell she's gonna be big-time. Keep up the good work; you should have your own show on TV.

 
Comments: 1 - 10 of 17

1 2 |
   Page: 1 of 2
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
  indicates required field
Name:  
Email:  
Website:  
YouTube
Response URL:
   ?
     
Comment:  
     
Enter text as shown:  
     


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
WeatherTech
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS