Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

Contagion (2011; Rated Rated PG-13)

Contagion
A+
 

““Contagion” is a brilliantly executed disease outbreak movie.”

-Richard Roeper

Contagion Review

Contagion

(2011; PG-13)

In theaters:
Friday, 9 September 2011

Director:
Steven Soderbergh

Cast:
Matt Damon, Kate Winslet, Bryan Cranston, Jude Law, Gwyneth Paltrow, Marion Cotillard

COMMENTS(10)
 
Post a Comment
 

Dr. Zaius said on Friday, September 06, 2013 7:55:18 AM
I would not give the movie an A+ (I would just drop the "+" and give the movie an A.) but aside from that I am in total agreement with Richard Roeper on this one. "Contagion" is in my opinion an excellent movie and Steven Soderbergh's to date. I just have a problem with how fast the disease spread and how quickly it killed its victims. That is my only criticism of the movie. The scene where Elliot Gould Slam dunks Jude Law telling him blogging is "graffiti with punctuation" is excellent.

Ted said on Saturday, January 21, 2012 2:57:53 PM
Richard nailed this one. Great film-Great score. Didn't lose its way like Outbreak. Amazing film making.

Michael S. said on Friday, September 16, 2011 1:25:18 AM
Disturbing and really gets under your skin, but written, acted, and directed to perfection. Easily one of the best films of the year and one of Soderbergh's best.

Carl the Critic said on Tuesday, September 13, 2011 4:19:27 PM
I am afraid I do not agree with you completely. I do agree that it has an Oscar worthy screenplay and direction (as well as acting by Lawrence Fishburne and Jude Law), the story itself was very padded and boring, Matt Damon's acting lacked energy/realism, there was questionable editing (The Scene where Jude Law is talking to Lawrence Fishburne and the camera cuts back and forth revealing both sides of his face for no reason),Marion Cotillard kept changing her accent in the movie giving a mix of French, Chinese, and even an American accent and by the end of the film I am left with more questions then answers. I'm not saying that it was a horrible movie, I'm just saying that I personally found it boring, and hard to get into. Glad you liked the movie though, I would have given it a B- myself but hey great review as always Mr. Roeper!

Dan Skip Allen said on Tuesday, September 13, 2011 12:03:32 AM
This is the Review of Contagion From the Fourth Row!

Ryan Oliver said on Thursday, September 08, 2011 4:08:02 PM
I enjoyed "Contagion" thoroughly, but I don't feel it was an A+ worthy movie. Granted to each his own, no disrespect to your opinion at all, I just found it to be a really solid genre picture with a lot of talented actors, but with so many characters they don't all stick, and some (most notably Cotillard and Paltrow) get short-changed. I like that it felt "real" and not over dramatized, which is a step up from most outbreak films, but I felt it lacked some of the "juice" that some of Soderbergh's other films had (Traffic being the prime example). Anyway, still better than nearly every film this summer, Three-out-of-four stars for me (or B to B+).

http://moviemadness-oliverryan.blogspot.com/2011/09/contagion-review.html

Ian Montgomery said on Thursday, September 08, 2011 3:45:41 PM
I can see now why you hyped it up early. The review and the A+ grade is intriguing. I'm still left wondering something though. In your view, what exactly makes this movie stand out among others with similar premises and their own notable performances such as Outbreak or Blindness? Is it even fair to compare them at all?

James Lewis said on Thursday, September 08, 2011 2:09:30 PM
Quite a disappointment. Structurally, the storyline disintegrated midway through.

Lisa Suzanne Harper said on Thursday, September 08, 2011 11:08:52 AM
Dear Rich,. Bryan Cranston is a really talented character actor. With his resume of work I still find that one of his best roles was Hal ( the dad) on Malcolm in the Middle. He's so versatile. But comedy is harder to master. My Question is- Do you think there should be a seperate category for Comedys at the Oscars?

felipe said on Wednesday, September 07, 2011 9:49:58 PM
I think Marion Cotillard gives an interesting and wonderful performance, as she always does (la vie en rose, a very long engagement, nini, inception), and she deserves an academy award nominations for supporting actress, or with Midnight in Paris, because her talent must be taking into consideration to get awards and nominations.

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Garrett Popcorn
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS