Sports Terminal

Don't Be Afraid of the Dark (2011; Rated Rated R)

Don't Be Afraid of the Dark

“ “Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark,” expands upon the creepy and effective TV movie from 1973.”

-Richard Roeper


Don't Be Afraid of the Dark

(2011; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 26 August 2011

Horror, Thriller

Katie Holmes, Guy Pearce, Bailee Madison

Post a Comment

Fuffysaid on Saturday, March 30, 2013 9:47:59 PM
I am 12 and I loved the move... It should have been rated PG 13 if you ask me. It wasn't really a true rated R movie. The violence was pretty harsh but the rest of the movie was slow going .

marcussaid on Saturday, March 03, 2012 2:04:33 AM
without a doubt worst movie I've seen in a long time. Filled with horror movie cliche' this movie pissed me off every step of the way and I want the two hours of my life back for wasting it watching this horrible horrible movie. Honestly hated it...

Ramondsaid on Wednesday, August 31, 2011 8:30:31 PM

Uh are you high? I mean the movie definitely isn't great and is a dissapointment but far and far away from the worst movie of the year and even Transformers is. Um guessing you didn't have to suffer through movies like The Roommate, Season of the Witch, Your Highness, Country Strong, Green Lantern, Red Riding Hood and many other garbage movies.

Ecksaid on Wednesday, August 31, 2011 10:31:59 AM
By far the worst movie I have seen this year. It was almost comical rather than scarey.

Chrissaid on Monday, August 29, 2011 11:12:44 PM
Really? Are you high? Worst movie right next to Transformers I have seen all year.

Nicksaid on Saturday, August 27, 2011 3:43:14 PM
Mr Roeper,

I don't know if you reviewed Insidious earlier this year, but if you did see it, how did Don't Be Afraid of the Dark compare to it? I thought Insidious was an effectively creepy haunted house movie but was pretty much ruined by its final act. In this review, your comments pretty much mirror my thoughts on Insidious (the monsters not being as scary when you see them, the explanations being unimpressive). Just curious as to which of the two films you enjoyed more.

- Nick

Heathsaid on Saturday, August 27, 2011 11:11:13 AM
This is why i only get my reviews from you RR. You really hit this one on the head. The only reason i was excited for this was because of Del Toro. But i was pleasently surprised by Katie Holmes. The film was indeed creepy at times but again all roles were the same as every house horror flick. I love seeing Guy Pearce every chance i get but again he was the "Idiot Father" witch we see in every house horror flick. Either way, was well put together and great acting! Keep up the good work RR!

Greatsaid on Thursday, August 25, 2011 7:22:38 PM
Great stuff always looking forward to your reviews :)

Veannasaid on Saturday, August 06, 2011 1:02:48 PM
HHIS I should have touhhgt of that!




 indicates required field
Response URL:
Enter text as shown:  

NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
Nuts on Clark
©2015 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved
Powered by
Web site design and development by