Nuts on Clark

Gangster Squad (2013; Rated Rated R)

Gangster Squad

“ “Gangster Squad” is a highly stylized, pulp-fiction period piece based on true events.”

-Richard Roeper


Gangster Squad

(2013; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 11 January 2013

Action, Crime, Drama

Sean Penn, Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone

Post a Comment

ellceesaid on Sunday, January 26, 2014 7:29:02 PM
Just watched this on DVD. Loved it. Entertaining and the good guys win and the bad guys get beat- really beat :-). When I want a movie, I want a good time & a happy ending. That's *it*. If you want drama and depression and Cannes or Sundance, simply skip fun movies like this one. A+!

M.E. (Cadillac) Lealiesaid on Friday, February 22, 2013 11:42:15 AM
I Love you like Garrett popcorn Richard but this film was lame. It is a gorgeous looking film but just a corny reboot of the 1987 classic The Untouchables. Penn does a good job, but it is a dry film with no purpose. Cheers !

ken carlsonsaid on Wednesday, January 23, 2013 6:19:55 AM
Agree with earlier writer, you were not observing how offensive this movie was. A "D+", not a "B+" was warranted.

Dustinsaid on Monday, January 21, 2013 12:30:10 PM

I heard you on Howard Stern and you are the man!!!!

Steven Freekinsaid on Monday, January 21, 2013 11:58:36 AM
From the 1st trailer i realized that this film was either going to be very stupid or very mediocre. After seeing the movie this weekend i give it a C-. The story is so basic that anyone can sleep through it and still figure out exactly what happened; it was all in the trailer. However, some of the cast did deliver some good performances, exciting action sequences, and some comic relief. In the end i was expecting too much from this movie, but it only deliver want it intended to deliver and that is style and entertainment.

Eric A.said on Saturday, January 12, 2013 2:30:48 PM
B+?!?? B+?!?! You're my most trusted critic, but you're totally wrong here. This garbage is cliched, trite, poorly written, and over the top.

Mattsaid on Saturday, January 12, 2013 2:04:07 PM
You're the worst movie reviewer in America. I say movie reviewer because associating you with the word critic lowers the concept of criticism.

Reply from Richard Roeper
Dear Matt:

Thanks for visiting the site!

All the best,


robin pattonsaid on Saturday, January 12, 2013 1:42:38 PM
Any movie who's content or release date is compromised by the news of the day or political atmosphere does neither the writer, director or the movie going public any positive service. This is censorship whether it's done by the studios or the government.

Ron Burgesssaid on Friday, January 11, 2013 11:56:50 PM
I agree. This is a well-crafted action movie. I feel like many of the other critics are dismissing this movie because of its similarities to "The Untouchables" and "L.A. Confidential" instead of judging it on its own merits.

Keep up the good work!

Joelsaid on Friday, January 11, 2013 7:30:26 PM
Hey Richard,
I have yet to see the movie but was excited to see it until I checked out Rotten Tomatoes which feature less than positive reviews from most Top Critics on the site. I was wondering since you do this professionally, why you believe that this movie was given such negative reviews compared to yours. My movie tastes seem to fall more in line with yours and I understand this is kind of a strange question and I know you cannot speak for anyone else, but I was just curious if you had any insight. Thanks.

Comments: 1 - 10 of 11

1 2 |
   Page: 1 of 2



 indicates required field
Response URL:
Enter text as shown:  

NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
Sports Terminal
©2015 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved
Powered by
Web site design and development by