Bookmark
 
 
 
 
WeatherTech
 

Horrible Bosses (2011; Rated Rated R)

Horrible Bosses
C+
 

“The screenplay is a hit and miss; but there are some laughs.”

-Richard Roeper

Horrible Bosses Review

Horrible Bosses

(2011; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 8 July 2011

Genre:
Comedy

Cast:
Jennifer Aniston, Jason Bateman, Charlie Day, Jason Sudeikis, Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell, Jamie Foxx

COMMENTS(19)
 
Post a Comment
 

Matthew said on Saturday, December 08, 2012 4:58:42 PM
I honestly agree with pretty much every criticism u made about this near miss of a dark comedy. The first 20 minutes or so are funny, but it quickly fell apart afterwards when Jamie Foxx's character entered the movie and kind of convoluted the whole movie. I also thought Charlie Day's character was a bit of a wimp. The script, or most of it, was weak. I would have liked to have seen how the main character's co-workers felt about these so-called "horrible bosses". Despite a terrific premise and big ensemble cast, the movie misses great potential with an uneven, contrived, and frenetic plot development, which made it a bit of a disappointment. I also noticed the leads looked bored and clueless as to what to do next and did not looked interested in continuing to make this film. This film misses receiving a promotion or raise and instead gets a C+ and a marginal thumbs down from me.

David Bastardo said on Saturday, September 17, 2011 9:53:48 PM
I deeply appreciate your review of the film, it is as always very objective and sincere. To be honest, I have rarely seen 'R' rated movies in my life (the one before this was "Paul", and I enjoyed it though), but I believe "Horrible Bosses"'s premise is smart enough to be entertaining for the most, when it's not a little bit overwhelming as a film. A strong script and fine performances make it an ejoyable ride. However, there is absolutely nothing that could make this a fresh 'B-' film, and your conclussion is more than justified I believe.

mel said on Monday, July 18, 2011 9:05:34 PM
Went with my husband to see this movie...LOVED IT! even as we watched Roeper's review and the movie clips ...we were laughing! so funny! interesting review & I normally agree with Roeper but not this time. You really should see this movie & skip his review ...trust me - you'll be laughing the whole time.

Igor said on Monday, July 18, 2011 8:50:46 AM
Richard,

I agree with you that the movie is contrived, the characters are one dimensional and the humor is childish. However, that is why I loved the movie. This movie was pure escapism and I needed that sort of guilty pleasure. I think in this horrible economy (I recently lost my job), so many people will identify with those jerk bosses and will vicariously enjoy watching those bosses getting their due. P.S. I once met you on Michigan Avenenue and you shook my hand and were a really cool and down to earth guy. I am a big fan of yours.

Jacob Duell said on Wednesday, July 13, 2011 4:31:26 PM
I can't believe no one mentioned Richard didn't mention Strangers on a Train or Throw Momma From The Train! The plot is just (loosely) based off those.

James Trimble said on Wednesday, July 13, 2011 3:52:34 PM
This is the first movie I've walked out of ever, and I sat through Ang Lee's Hulk(Monstrous green pile of dung).
I have to disagree with Roeper. In a theater full of people and silence, I didn't hear or experience anything near half a dozen laughs. I did give the movie a little over an hour, so maybe there were a few more laughs in the last act. The movie was insulting -- not in the jokes or the dark subject material -- But in the way the movie treats its audience, as a fidgety heap of quivering retards.

Showtime said on Monday, July 11, 2011 10:59:19 AM
Horrible Bosses was absolutely hilarious!! All the way through the movie everyone was laughing! Maybe when they make Horrible Critics you'll be the star!

Jenn said on Monday, July 11, 2011 10:19:46 AM
I love how the average joe today thinks that they know more than one of the most respected film critics of our time. Too much reality TV I think...

Kam Haghayeghi said on Sunday, July 10, 2011 1:20:18 PM
Hi Richard,

I'm not too familiar with the critical review process for films. When you watch these films, are you watching it alone or with a large group of people? The reason I ask is because I thought this film had its funny moments, but it wasn't as funny as expected. Despite my opinion, it seems like EVERYONE in the audience found this film unbelievably funny. This, in turn, caused me to think it was a better film than it actually was. Now, when people ask me if the film was good, I respond by telling them is was very funny (even though, deep down inside, I thought it was an average comedy).

Does the audience's response ever play a factor into your reviews?

-Kam

Reply from Richard Roeper
Hi Kam,

Sometimes I see films in a private screening room with a few other critics. More often, I see movies in a commercial theater with an audience.

After seeing literally thousands of movies over the last decade-plus, I can't say that audience reaction really affects me one way or another. Many in the crowd will be laughing uproariously at a movie such as "Death at a Funeral" or "Just Go With It," and I'm just amazed that they're amused by the predictable, lowbrow, tired jokes. It doesn't mean I'm right and they're wrong--it just means they're laughing and I'm not.

I'll often hear from fans saying, "I don't know who you saw this movie with, but when I saw it, everyone in the audience was having a GREAT time, laughing it up like crazy!" OK, but that's not going to change my opinion.

All I can do is give MY honest reaction to a film. If I find it funny, scary, moving, thought-provoking, etc., I'm going to say so, regardless of what the guy sitting behind me thinks about it.

Cheers,

RR

David said on Sunday, July 10, 2011 2:47:57 AM
I completely agree real hit and miss and seemed like the biggest/funniest parts were in the trailer. I was hoping this would be much funnier but just fell flat.

 
Comments: 1 - 10 of 19

1 2 |
   Page: 1 of 2
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS