Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Garrett Popcorn
 

Les Miserables (2012; Rated Rated PG-13)

Les Miserables
A
 

“This is an unforgettable moviegoing experience, sure to garner multiple Oscar nominations.”

-Richard Roeper

Les Miserables Review

Les Miserables

(2012; PG-13)

In theaters:
Tuesday, 25 December 2012

Genre:
Drama, Musical, Romance

Cast:
Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway, Russell Crowe, Helena Bonham Carter, Sasha Baron Cohen, Amanda Seyfried, Isabelle Allen

COMMENTS(10)
 
Post a Comment
 

Jovis said on Saturday, April 27, 2013 5:12:06 PM
Once again Richard we kindly disagree with you. Les miserables more like we were all miserables. We all dreamed a dream that Russell Crowe would take a cue from Anne Hathaway and cease his whale like pipes and jump off a bridge a lot sooner, preferably before he started singing. I didn't need to see him get his butt handed to him by a bunch of 14 year olds. Anne hathaway should of worked more on her dancing and less on her crying. Where were the dancing parts in this musical movie? Just because you're dying of starvation and venereal disease, doesn't mean you can't throw in a jaunty jig every now and then. The ending was very confusing. I didn't know they were doing a prequel to what dreams may come, minus the american treasure Robin Williams. He has a veneral disease and he still manages to fly. Why was wolverine in a jail cell when everyone knows he has metallic claws? Richard this movie left more questions than answers.

Janice said on Thursday, January 24, 2013 9:43:31 AM
I've seen it twice and loved it both times, of course. Hugh Jackman was amazing. Russell Crowe was better than most reviews give him credit for. Samantha Barks was great. I don't understand all the praise for Anne Hathaway, though. I think she was doing some major scenery chewing--"look at me ACTING!". I didn't find her performance real at all. I was glad the character was hardly in the film.

Tony said on Wednesday, January 16, 2013 9:16:12 PM
Enjoyed the movie but stronglyIidsliked Hooper overuse of close ups. Why expand the scope and show repeated closeups?

Philip Heming said on Sunday, January 06, 2013 11:55:07 AM
I've seen Les Mis twice now in London, separated by a 2 year period. I can't imagine that the film will enhance my experience. Like so many stage shows, often transfer to the big screen proves very disappointing. In a theatre, so much is left to your imagination, which is usually a better experience than someone else's representation on a film set. Whilst opening up this experience to none theatre go-ers may give them some insight, I think that stage musicals should be left as just that, stage musicals!

J said on Saturday, January 05, 2013 9:02:52 PM
Good review and I agree with much of the comments made. However, this is NOT the first movie musical to use live singing as opposed to lip-synching. A lot of people think that but it's just not true.

Reply from Richard Roeper
J,

Can you give us some other examples?

Best

Richard

John said on Saturday, January 05, 2013 1:40:33 PM
Great review
I took my 8 year old grand daughter to see it She loved it I didn't like it would of left 30 minutes into it on a 0 to 10
grampa 3 grand daughter 10

Vivian Ritter said on Monday, December 31, 2012 9:03:55 PM
Thank you, Richard, for your thoughtful comments. I am so tired of reviewers who tout their "superior" taste, but to me, they only reveal that they are clearly not fans of popular musicals. Hey, if you don't like musicals, don't review them. Everyone in my audience applauded at the end of this one.

Andrew Y. said on Friday, December 28, 2012 12:41:27 PM
"Les Miserables" is NOT the first musical film to record singing live. This was common practice as early as the 1930s. In fact, "Love Me Tonight" (1932) recorded a full orchestra and vocals simultaneously live on set. Hooper's "Les Mis" is ambitious, sure, but it really isn't as innovative as the filmmakers would like you to believe.

Jonathan G said on Wednesday, December 26, 2012 3:58:50 PM
Saw this movie on Tuesday when it hit theaters, if I was hosting "At the movies" with Ebert and Roeper id say I just give it a regular thumbs up. Jackman and Hathaway are sensational and deserve oscar nominations, but the movie just went on, and on, and on, and on until finally as the movie is about to end I was just waiting for it to finish. It drags on way to long. I also wasnt to crazy about Russel Crowe's performance. I liked this movie..... but frankly I was expecting more, and I wasnt expecting it to go on for as long as it did.

Kevin Michael Ellis said on Thursday, December 20, 2012 11:01:06 AM
Hello Mr. R!

Excellent review. If I were to review your review, I would give it an A-. I am Les Excitables to see this adaptation. What do you think its odds are for a screenplay nomination with such an obviously unusual form? Thank you for reading, unless you skipped right to this sentence, and in that case thank you for reading this sentence!

Signed,
A Big RR Fan

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS