Lucy (2014; Rated Rated R)


“ What a disaster of a movie!”

-Richard Roeper

Written Review



(2014; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 25 July 2014

Action, Science Fiction

Luc Besson

Scarlett Johansson, Min-sik Choi, Morgan Freeman

Post a Comment

Kensaid on Monday, February 23, 2015 10:31:35 AM
"Awareness." The Buddha's reply when asked to sum up his teaching in a single word. Awareness is the single thing which is coming into Lucy by consuming more CPH4. The Heart Sutra precedes 500 years before the Buddha's Nirvana and it is often described as "the way things appear the mind of the Buddha." And it says, "This is because the limiting categories of time and space disappear." Awareness. Lucy.

Ken H.said on Friday, September 19, 2014 1:46:02 PM
What other organ does Hollywood think we under utilize? Might have worked better as the back story to a new super hero. Using 100% of my brain, I'd give it a D.

Chris Ecclestonsaid on Sunday, August 24, 2014 5:21:29 PM
I Agree 100% Mr Roeper, Lucy is one of the worst movies of the year.

Anthonysaid on Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:58:08 AM
@Jon - Excuse me, but for one you are visiting Mr. Roeper's website and no one is forcing you. Secondly, he worked with Roger Ebert and you have no status at all. Who are you to criticize him? "Coffee is for closers only." - Glengarry Glen Ross

Jonsaid on Wednesday, July 30, 2014 6:02:09 PM
Roeper thinks Lucy is a disaster and yet gives Transcendence a great review. Both movies aren't very good, but Lucy is definitely better. This guy reviews movies for a living the same way Kim Kardashian does anything. Badly, while staying somewhat relevant.

Reply from Richard Roeper
Come on. Be smarter than that. Just because YOU disagree with me doesn't invalidate my opinion. You do understand that, don't you?

John Bsaid on Tuesday, July 29, 2014 9:55:00 PM
You were way too hard on this one. It was Alright.

Patrick R.said on Monday, July 28, 2014 2:23:43 PM
"I think I'm being generous by giving it a D-!"

Having seen the film for myself, I think you might be right, lol. :P

Larry Lachmannsaid on Friday, July 25, 2014 3:29:47 PM
Can't wait to see this. i almost always enjoy Besson's movies, even when he missteps. Looks like a fun popcorn movie.




 indicates required field
Response URL:
Enter text as shown:  

NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
Sports Terminal
©2015 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved
Powered by
Web site design and development by