Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

Pacific Rim (2013; Rated Rated PG-13)

Pacific Rim
B
 

“A ridiculously entertaining (and often just plain ridiculous) monster-robot movie that plays like that “Rock ‘em Sock ‘em Robots” game from the 1960s.”

-Richard Roeper

Pacific Rim Review

Pacific Rim

(2013; PG-13)

In theaters:
Friday, 12 July 2013

Genre:
Action, Adventure, Science Fiction

Director:
Guillermo del Toro

Cast:
Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Charlie Day

COMMENTS(12)
 
Post a Comment
 

Jimmy said on Thursday, December 12, 2013 12:31:40 PM
I thought this movie was cool! The first 10 minutes is electrifying. I am really glad that all these people brought this film into being. It now exists and the Universe is a little bit more colourful and fun for it.

Criticising the uneducated masses whilst also being a servile pawn/battery of the system just like the rest of us is a moronic thing to say, by the way... LOL @ clever Hatchet.

Allie said on Friday, August 30, 2013 3:10:12 PM
If you don't know how to spell "puerile," then you have no high ground to call people uneducated, Hatchet.

Tim said on Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:16:04 AM
The movie is worth seeing, that's the bottom line. Maybe you don't love the characters, but that's not the real attraction anyway, its the action sequences, which are very good. Roeper gushed over Prometheus and gave it an A+, yet the character development in that movie was awful (but great visuals and also worth seeing). Very few movies are perfect, but this movie does enough to earn a good rating, that's the bottom line.

Sean said on Sunday, July 28, 2013 9:58:37 AM
People need to stop getting so butt hurt over the reviews. Mr. Roeper even said it was an entertaining movie. Sometimes you want to watch movies to feel inspired, sometimes to laugh...sometimes you just want to watch a giant robot punch a giant monster in the face. This movie is cornily awesome but far from the MOST AMAZING movie ever, even the actors would tell you that.

Andrew B said on Saturday, July 27, 2013 12:54:40 AM
Hey Richard I just wanted to thank you for this great review and all of your other reviews as well.

JB said on Monday, July 22, 2013 12:51:41 PM
Funny, "cyrollan"?

I liked the film, but I disagree with your "factual opinion" that this is the best movie period. You're not ALWAYS right, you know!

cyrollan said on Sunday, July 21, 2013 4:55:02 PM
Dear Richard Roeper, you speak of "5,000 movies you need to see"... there's no way any of those beat Pacific Rim. This is the best film ever created. Argument over. Opinions do not count. This is factual opinion.

grunt2502 said on Friday, July 19, 2013 7:11:27 PM
Im sure this movie was made to entertain audiences with epic fighting between monsters and robots, not a drawn out story about the characters.

Chad said on Thursday, July 18, 2013 9:43:21 PM
I had a blast watching this movie. I completely understand you rating this a B while also describing it as "ridiculously entertaining," because it was. This was the most fun I've had at the movies this summer compared to the other Blockbusters that have been released.

Also, I'm a proud popcorn munching moron whether I'm watching Pacific Rim or The Kings of Summer.

Also, thanks for your reviews, I love when I agree with your opinions and I especially love when I disagree, it really makes me think hard about what I'm watching and why I love film.

Cheers.

Aaron said on Thursday, July 18, 2013 6:18:14 PM
Good review, Richard. I loved this movie. The detail and originality was amazing. Del Toro continues to impress with every film he directs!

 
Comments: 1 - 10 of 12

1 2 |
   Page: 1 of 2
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
  indicates required field
Name:  
Email:  
Website:  
YouTube
Response URL:
   ?
     
Comment:  
     
Enter text as shown:  
     


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
WeatherTech
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS