Bookmark
 
 
 
 
WeatherTech
 

Salt (2010; Rated Rated PG-13)

Salt
C-
 

“She's 101 pounds soaking wet but she's stronger than Spider-Man!”

-Richard Roeper

Salt Review

Salt

(2010; PG-13)

In theaters:
Friday, 23 July 2010

Genre:
Action, Adventure, Mystery, Thriller

Director:
Phillip Noyce

Cast:
Angelina Jolie, Liev Schreiber

COMMENTS(9)
 
Post a Comment
 

Sara said on Saturday, March 26, 2011 12:43:47 AM
I loved this movie. I didn't take it seriously because some of it was downright ludicrous. How she drove a car off a bridge and walked away without so much as a gimp in her step is completely beyond me. I view it as a summer popcorn flick, more for entertainment than genuine believability.

Amber J. Hayes said on Monday, January 03, 2011 7:55:03 PM
As I mentioned earlier, I love both Richard and Roger. I know that Roger really adores Angelina Jolie, as many people do. I sometimes wonder if his opinions are a little biased when he critiques one of her films. I don't think he's going soft in fact I think he's incredible after everything he's been through. I must say, I miss Ebert & Roeper a lot, it was great when they were together, I kinda wish they did a show again. I don't care for the new critics, they just don't have the same chemistry. I remember seeing an excerpt from an episode where Roeper said "that movie sucked", and Ebert said something along the lines of "how could you be so cold" or something like that. I tried to find out what movie they were discussing, but unfortunately was unable to, If anyone knows...please tell me, Thanks!

Ryan said on Saturday, October 02, 2010 4:32:52 PM
I love your reviews! I could not agree with any of them more!

Curtis said on Tuesday, September 28, 2010 4:08:12 AM
I actually really enjoyed this movie. Not once did I think that scenes were ludicrous. In fact, because it's intended to be believed, I assumed that this woman is just one hell of a trained spy and went with it! A friend and I were both very entertained and were quite surprised by the ending in the bunker. We liked it a lot.

Amber J. Hayes said on Friday, September 17, 2010 8:41:28 PM
Hi Richard,
There's only two critics reviews that I read, one is you, and the other is Roger Ebert, it's so true how I respect both of your opinions, and I've agreed with Roger over you and vice-versa. However, I think you hit the nail on the head with Salt. Angelina Jolie is a great actress but it is hard for me to watch a movie like this and find it even half way believable. I really enjoyed Wanted, however there was a scene in that movie as well where she bent down in the supermarket to shoot the assailent and honestly her legs looked like twigs. Maybe in a Tarantino movie this would fly, but not in this one. When she's in scenes that would mame and kill James Bond on a good day, it just doesn't cut it!

Jonathan Wynn said on Monday, August 09, 2010 10:45:39 PM
Richard Roeper is most of the times RIGHT (97%) and I think he 's honest in his opinions. I don't like A O Scott who replaced Ebert. I don't agree with Ebert either 25% of times.

Taylor C said on Sunday, August 01, 2010 11:50:08 PM
I respectfully disagree with your opinion, Richard. Yes, everything in the film is preposterous, yet it is directed and edited by Noyce and Baird, as if it could happen, and in turn you almost believe the nuttiness. The film would have been far less effective if it was done more in the style of a Michael Bay film. The film is essentially an antithesis of the Bay style of filmmaking that's permeating all Hollywood action films (especially action films from this summer alone) at the moment.

LP said on Friday, July 23, 2010 9:53:23 PM
Trent, Roger hasn't gone soft. If he had "Toy Story 3" would have gotten 4 stars as well. Roger likes what he likes and always has (for instance, he gave positive reviews to both "Tomb Raider" movies). Ebert ain't always right but he is always honest.
I saw "Salt" and it is slap in the middle of these two guys opinions. Most movies are heightened and you choose whether to go with it or not. I did. The problem I had, without giving it away, is when the rooting interest blurs. At that point it is still entertaining but not very exciting.

Trent said on Friday, July 23, 2010 11:19:11 AM
I always look forward to your reviews Mr. Roeper, you represent the more knowledgable movie fan that won't be tricked by awful writing and brutal acting and tell us up front to avoid bad movies, like this one. And I most definitely appreciate that.

I also witnessed another sign that Mr. Ebert has gotten soft in his movie reviews since getting sick, he gave this one FOUR STARS! He only gave Toy Story 3 three stars so that tells me Salt is head and shoulders above Toy Story 3?! Wow, just wow.

Keep up the excellent work Mr. Roeper and GO WHITE SOX!

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS