Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace 3D (2012; Rated Rated PG)

Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace 3D
 

“The Phantom Menace is the latest blockbuster to get the 3D treatment”

-Richard Roeper

Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace 3D Review

Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace 3D

(2012; PG)

In theaters:
Friday, 10 February 2012

Genre:
Action, Adventure, Fantasy

COMMENTS(10)
 
Post a Comment
 

Ted said on Tuesday, February 21, 2012 10:39:29 PM
This movie is just a Saturday matinee space-opera. Jar Jar Binks is one of children's favorite Star Wars characters. I like the digitally rendered worlds. I like John William's score. I like the pod race. I like Darth Maul and his fierce double blade saber. I like the digitally rendered Yoda- better. The 3D was unnecessary. I just liked Star Wars on the big screen. I payed 8 bucks to get in and 2.50 to refill my popcorn bucket.The movie is family friendly. The movie did not live up to hype-so what. This is in a completely different league than that cowboys and aliens snore. It's a classy space opera with visual delights.

Adam Hansen said on Sunday, February 19, 2012 7:33:13 PM
Richard, just wanted you to know I did understand your review, and could tell you restrained yourself from giving a harsher true review to this film. I agree this film was released to just reap more profits from a very mediocre and poorly scripted film. This did not to be put in 3D, it's crappy enough in 2D. Films like Avatar which is a beautiful film in 3D and filmed that way deserves praises for it's artistic value. This film is just a waste. I'll pass on this and anything alse converted from 2D into 3D

Nate Obermann said on Sunday, February 19, 2012 2:29:16 PM
3D in my opinion is a travesty to filmaking. I believe there should be more of a push to IMAX like Brad Bird did with "MI4" and Christopher Nolan for "TDKR". I personally think (if it was possible) the space battle scene in "Return of the Jedi" would be one of the most thrilling experiences of all time if people were able to watch it in IMAX

Jonathan Lemmonj said on Wednesday, February 15, 2012 5:53:58 PM
I personally thought the 3D converstion for the podrace was very well done. Other than that, I was kind of disapointed with the 3D for the first half of the film. After the podrace though it seemed to increase on it's own. I guess it just goes to show what a complicated process movie making is.

Billy said on Monday, February 13, 2012 1:41:00 AM
I'd rather you not waste any more of your life to this cinematic turd, Richard. Do us a favour, and just avoid it. Please.

Alexander said on Sunday, February 12, 2012 9:22:01 AM
Did you enjoy Darth maul as a Villain?

Gilda said on Sunday, February 12, 2012 8:01:42 AM
2D movies converted to 3D after the fact seem to me to be a contemporary version of what colorization was a couple of decades back. It's unnecessary, looks bad, and is based on the flawed underlying assumption that there's something missing that needs to be fixed by adding it in after the fact.

Part of this, for me, is that for some reason, I have difficulty resolving the 3D image and end up watching large portions of the movie with one eye closed, something nearly as annoying as cell-phone users texting during a movie.

nonya said on Saturday, February 11, 2012 4:10:21 PM
when I watch 3d movies I'm constantly distracted, I'm told this is because the current 3d implementation being used is trying to trick my brain into thinking it's 3d.

I hate it, I didn't like Avatar in 3d despite those few moments where falling pollen looked like it landed in my lap (was sitting 2 rows from screen) and after watching it I was more interested in seeing the movie at home on my home theater in 2d.... which I have since done and prefer (have both DVD and blu ray).

I really wish reviews would finally get over the "cool factor of 3d" and finally acknowledge what most save the "fanboys" have already decided which is that 3d is degrading the video quality of movies in theaters and is inferior to HD.

you mentioned that "viewers are suspending 3d when watching in 2d on a screen" and to that I say that HD 2d makes for better 3d than the "real 3d" that is being used today.

the last King Kong is an obvious example when overlooking the cityscape from the skyscraper my wife had to close her eyes.

Crazy Davey said on Saturday, February 11, 2012 8:18:58 AM
I love the Star Wars prequels... George Lucas is sucking me in to go see this... Damn you, Lucas! XD

Doug Brode said on Friday, February 10, 2012 2:20:34 PM
That wasn't actually a review. You never discussed what YOU yourself thought of the conversion of this particular film - what scenes worked, what didn't. Honestly, there was not even any evidence to suggest that you actually WATCHED EP.1 3D!

I've liked your reviews over the years, but this one seemed plain LAZY. Please redo...or make a special edition. Thanks.

Reply from Richard Roeper
It wasn't INTENDED to be a review. (I don't control how the segments are labeled.) It was a PREVIEW, and an overall commentary on 3D in general. I put as much time into writing and delivering the piece as I do with any review.

Best,

Richard

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
  indicates required field
Name:  
Email:  
Website:  
YouTube
Response URL:
   ?
     
Comment:  
     
Enter text as shown:  
     


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Nuts on Clark
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS