Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Nuts on Clark
 

Sucker Punch (2011; Rated Rated PG-13)

Sucker Punch
D
 

“Indecipherable, hypocritical mess.”

-Richard Roeper

Sucker Punch Review

Sucker Punch

(2011; PG-13)

In theaters:
Friday, 25 March 2011

Genre:
Action, Fantasy, Musical, Thriller, War

Cast:
Emily Browning, Vanessa Hudgens, Abbie Cornish, Jon Hamm

COMMENTS(22)
 
Post a Comment
 

Annette said on Wednesday, March 26, 2014 12:26:06 PM
If you are a girl/woman great movie.soundtrack, in a good way it reminds me of the 90s, action brilliant. Girl power!

Dave said on Tuesday, July 17, 2012 9:07:14 PM
Richard,

I always check your reviews before seeing (or not seeing) a movie. I've been a longtime fan, so keep up the excellent work, and thanks for taking on the burdensome task of handling the likes of 'pete' on these sites. Looking forward to your upcoming reviews.

jes said on Wednesday, June 27, 2012 4:29:39 PM
complete waste of time with such a shit ending. yeah, the cg scenes are cool, but what's the point when it ends so terribly. Who the hell wants to watch a movie with a crap ending?

David Bastardo said on Saturday, September 17, 2011 10:12:50 PM
I have to say I had great expectations of this film when I first saw the trailers at the end of 2010. Yeah, I was a 14 year old boy, didn't have a girlfriend at the time and really wanted to see some cool beautiful girls in a fantasy action-packed movie, it seemed very entertaining. However, the movie was someway entirley different than the trailers, and wanting to make the ending something of a "smart choice" is indeed hypocritical, because the premise of the film is a male fantasy, and that was what I was looking for. So, if Snyder makes a movie that's ment for men and then ruins it entirley its very, very sad, and yeah, Roeper is right yet again, it is boring, but not for the performances, or the girls, but for an overwhelming visual style, music videoclips-like cinematography, and unswallowable character (that of Oscar Isaac), and a horribly stupid end. Hey, if you wish to entertain boys, make something that's fun and not pathetically depressing.

Mike said on Friday, April 15, 2011 11:14:20 AM
You know Richard saying that the asylum is a front for a strip club isn't really simplifying things for the sake of the review, it is saying something that is simply wrong. It throws off people who haven't see the film and makes those who have question the your review if you got something so simple so wrong. If you wanted to simplify the review, you could say something like that it then jumps back and shows the characters at a strip club. You can say that it's confusing and comes out of nowhere, because it is and it does.

Fred said on Wednesday, April 13, 2011 2:23:21 PM
"As for "Sucker Punch" being hypocritical, it's pretty obvious. You throw in some narration about girl empowerment, but counter that with visuals of twentysomething women dressed in schoolgirl fantasy sequences. Giving them big guns and having their skirts twirl above their waists as they kick and punch hardly counterbalances that."

Which makes me wonder: What is the source of a twentysomething woman's power? Attractiveness, the will to use it and the intelligence to use it right. Otherwise, nothing in particular. Girls are not empowered by downplaying their essential qualities.

Brad Wright said on Monday, April 11, 2011 7:50:58 AM
I hated the movie too, Richard. It was a mess I believed too, those girls could not act, and people think they were acting because they did a lot of stunts. The action was okay, probably the only highlight of the movie. I'm a big fan of Zack Snyders Watchmen and 300, but this movie was disappointing. Don't listen to all these guys Richard, they only hate your review because they just liked the action and didnt see the big picture of how much it sucked. I like your reviews.

richard roeper said on Friday, April 08, 2011 9:38:46 AM
Pete:

Are you actually incapable of reading the explanation in this very section??? And I'M the idiot. OK chief.

Pete said on Friday, April 08, 2011 9:27:52 AM
It's not really a front for a whorehouse, idiot.

Steph said on Friday, April 01, 2011 3:39:10 PM
I have been surprised with all of the vicious reviews of this film.

Most of the musings have been from a male perspective, I am a 29 year old female and I adored this film. I karate kicked the exit door to the theatre with glee while my heart was pounding from the visual and mental thrill ride.
Was this movie perfect, well-acted and seamlessly tied together? No. But people are not giving this film enough credit for its visual splendor and social commentary.
I appreciated the uneasiness this movie created and the thoughtful soundtrack. Critics should take a moment to look beyond the obvious . Snyder, thank you for Sucker Punch. Richard, the "Indecipherable, hypocritical mess" is an innovative, sexy and visually spectacular triumph.

 
Comments: 1 - 10 of 22

1 2 3 |
   Page: 1 of 3
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS