Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

The Book of Eli (2010; Rated Rated R)

The Book of Eli
A
 

“A bold, innovative, kick-ass post-apocalyptic adventure.”

-Richard Roeper

The Book of Eli Review

The Book of Eli

(2010; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 15 January 2010

Genre:
Action, Adventure, Drama, Science Fiction, Thriller

Director:
Albert and Allen Hughes

Cast:
Denzel Washington, Gary Oldman, Mila Kunis

COMMENTS(9)
 
Post a Comment
 

todd said on Sunday, March 03, 2013 9:42:57 AM
I thought that this was an excellent movie, with an interesting plot.Very well done, with another outstanding performance by Denzel. This movie would be in my top 20, except for the casting selection of Mila Kunis. What were they thinking? Her performance was awful, to say the least. Not even close to being believable. I wonder if she wrote her own lines or something, because on several occasions what she was saying made no sense. For example- one minute she is a sex slave willing to do whatever- the next minute she is reluctant to hold elis' hand for a prayer? She couldn't even walk properly.There must have been pros during the shoot rolling their eyes and wondering how they ended up with this dead fish.What do they say?..It's not who you know, but who you.....

Konstantinos said on Tuesday, August 14, 2012 1:56:56 PM
I think you pretty much spot on with the ertine review with a few "minor" things I think differently in respect to the ending. And I do agree about Mila Kunis, she was too pretty, perfect and clean for something of this magnitude. It was as if she couldn't wrap herself around the role and idea of what was going on around her. And as Roth said, she wasn't believable when TV or anything else was mentioned. She can't read, but she spoke very well for someone who had never learned how to. Not many people that I have met, who are illiterate, can speak that well. As for the ending, when I figured out Eli's "condition" the lights went on and a lot of things made sense to me. I honestly thought it was a more solid ending than either of you thought. Only because at THAT one point in the film, I figured out, why it took so long, why things he did "now" made sense, and why he was so "focused" on his goal. The cumulation of everything he was accomplishing justified the ending to me. Not because of some "religious" aspect, but because of his spirituality in finishing this mission of his life. This was probably something to do with the writers and they way they saw Eli. And this, to me justified "why" he did all of this. It even justifies why Mila's character did what she did in the end. I mean, come on The Book of Eli I should have figured that one out immediately. It's like a book in the bible. And Mila's character was "continuing" Eli's mission by starting her own in respect for Eli. Whom, I would assume she now greatly respected. Now they never say "why" or "how" he knew where he needed to go. I think they left that to your imagination, which to me is good story telling. I've always thought a really good story left some parts for you to think about and work out on your own. Helps you become "part" of the story. The "religious" aspect, I do agree that it's very generic and not preachy at all. Just enough to give you the reasoning behind why he did what he did. Kind of like in "The Day After Tomorrow" when they were in the library and the one character (who is an atheist) says he wants to save he Gutenberg Bible, not because of religious reasons. But because it was the dawn of the age of reasoning, etc. They do a great job of pointing out Oldman's character wants to use Religion as a tool/weapon to control everyone. And even the "mention" of the reasoning why the burned all the bibles, makes complete sense because there are those who would use it as a means to control masses of people. Hence Oldman's character wanting it to rule his piece of the world. So the reasoning why I thought it was a much stronger ending than you all did, is because of that point in the film when "everything suddenly makes sense" (avoiding spoilers here). I don't know if it has to do with my religious upbringing or how I was raised. Not that I am religious now, by no means am I anymore. But it became VERY clear to me the reasons and the whys. I love how they did it in such a way that I was completely in the dark until the end (no pun intended). I normally figure these things out and did not. I do think that there are some who will dislike it because they won't like that "religious" overtone that's there. And they definitely won't understand the "why" either. Just my two cents (well, okay more like $5) but you get it. Keep up the great work!

Tommy said on Tuesday, June 15, 2010 4:16:54 AM
I have to agree with Mr. Roeper on this. I saw Book of Eli the weekend it came out and I was surprised at how good it was. I just watch it again today and I was still in awe of the movie. A lot of critics and movie goers complain about the ending when we find out the Denzel's Eli was blind. I think that is what makes this movie so great. Everything he accomplished he did blind. If you watch it twice you pick up

Margaret said on Wednesday, May 26, 2010 11:28:42 AM
An A? Are you kidding me? This movie was one of the most overblown, ridiculous films I've seen in a while. Terrible plot, horrid acting and unending preachiness. I don't want to "spoil" this film for anyone (if that is even possible), but the "surprise plot twist" was patently ridiculous - so ridiculous, in fact, that some viewers seem to miss it. I couldn't wait for it to be over. On the plus side, it provided more laughs (unintended) than I was expecting. I would put it in the "so bad it's good" category, but to give it an A is just plain crazy. It was a rotten film.

Oh, and Mila Kunis' decision at the end of the film was just crazy and completely uncalled for. It didn't fit with anything we'd seen of her in the film up to that point. She spends the first two hours of the film relying on Eli to rescue her, and now she's supposed to be self-sufficient? Insane, but not any stupider than the rest of the film.

Brian said on Tuesday, February 16, 2010 2:41:10 PM
Excellent review Richard, I completely agree with your take on it. I also agree that the Mila Kunis performance was outstanding and showed how she is growing as an actress. You nailed it perfectly by saying it would walk the road of mixed reviews, but the film worked on all levels for me as well.

Evan said on Tuesday, February 02, 2010 5:45:48 PM
I can't see this movie working for anyone other than pretty spiritual people. It gets increasingly preachy as it goes on, and what you call a leap of faith, Richard, I call ridiculous nonsense (don't even get me started on that final twist). And I though Mila Kunis was a bad casting choice-- she seemed way out of place in the gritty post-apocalyptic setting, and she sounded like a valley girl. Love your work, Richard, and I tend to agree with your reviews-- but not with this one. C- from me...

Richard roeper said on Thursday, January 28, 2010 2:45:14 PM
Jonathan,
Just hit the play button above and it'll play for you.
RR

Jonathan said on Saturday, January 16, 2010 2:50:33 PM
Where is the review?

Alain Loubeau said on Friday, January 15, 2010 3:47:41 PM
Awesome movie

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Garrett Popcorn
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS