Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Garrett Popcorn
 

The Counselor (2013; Rated Rated R)

The Counselor
A+
 

“Sexy, complicated, smart, violent. Cool.”

-Richard Roeper

The Counselor Review

The Counselor

(2013; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 25 October 2013

Genre:
Crime, Drama, Thriller

Director:
Ridley Scott

Cast:
Goran Visnjic, Brad Pitt, Michael Fassbender, Penélope Cruz, Cameron Diaz

COMMENTS(35)
 
Post a Comment
 

Mike said on Tuesday, September 02, 2014 11:50:16 AM
One of the few times in which I could not disagree more with Richard. An "A+"?. Really? I have not decided what in my opinion is Ridley Scott's best movie, but as soon as I saw this piece of garbage I knew what his worst movie is. Cameron Diaz gives the worst performance of her craeer in this horrible movie. Why did she not receive a Razzie nomination? The story, the script, the characters are just plain awful. As is the case with Cameron Diaz, I am floored that this movie did not even get nominated for the Worst Picture Razzie. By far THE worst movie of 2013.

LeMont said on Monday, July 21, 2014 3:51:03 PM
Thought it was a very good movie, I just think you weren't supposed to "like" it!

hal clark said on Friday, March 21, 2014 7:04:30 PM
I could barely watch the Counselor and turned to the Internet to see if anyone felt about it as I did. It is the only movie, ever, that having watched it on dvd, I destroyed the dvd. I have never seen any film that deserves the description of 'absolute and total rubbish' apart from this one. The photography is the only notable feature. It is a movie without a coherent plot or story, meaningless scenes strung together, pathetic characters, poor writing, and a thoroughly disappointing experience. The opening scene is abominable. I feel sorry for the actors being put through it and having to recite disgusting dialogue devoid of all meaning or purpose. Sex, tastefully done, may have a place in mainstream movies; pornography does not. I was drawn to purchase this movie, without having read any reviews in advance, by the exceptionally talented participants - cast, director, writer. But they wasted plus 2 hours of my life.

Kyle said on Saturday, March 15, 2014 3:51:03 PM
Wow, I am stunned that I didn't notice this movie had been released year. I just watched it after renting and I think it was actually the best work of Ridley Scott's career. I love the subplots and dense dialog and symbolism that persistently draws out like a blade. You know what's coming but you are pinned to your seat to watch it unfold. This is classic denouement delivery with a contemporary spin. Awesome film!

And for those who say it makes no sense, please watch it again, and pay closer attention.

AmberHayes said on Thursday, March 13, 2014 8:59:23 PM
I saw the Counselor after seeing wonderful reviews, I like intelligent movies, I didn't feel very intelligent after seeing it, there were too many gaps, it didn't connect, I watched a movie before that called Disconnect which should have been this movie's name and The Counsellor could have been an alternate name for Disconnect had it been told in a third person objective or say a therapist's stories of separate clients that connected in a way that they all disconnected, confused, well I was too with The Counselor, yet I don't think it's as terrible as people say but it Definately missed the mark, too much dialog, trying to hard to be smart when the intelligence was a mere smokescreen, the best part of the movie was the scenery, absolutely beautiful cinematography, but it should've been with the budget it had, but the acting and everything else fell flat, it was very disturbing however, truth is it gave me nightmares!

Joe said on Saturday, February 15, 2014 4:03:53 AM
Look, Roeper, you are pretty close to on point with 70% of your reviews, then another 25% I disagree with but can respect, but when it comes to Ridley Scott you have the weirdest "let's just overlook logic and narrative because Ridley Scott!" blindspot I've ever seen. What are you thinking, man? Being obtuse and narratively muddled does not make you smart, and admitting to not caring for such hapahazardly told stories does not make you ignorant and "not getting it".

You need to learn that when it comes to Ridley Scott the emperor has no clothes, specifically the guy can create cool looking films, but he doesn't care about narrative making any logical rational sense.

Grayson said on Tuesday, January 28, 2014 9:07:41 PM
Well I liked it. I can see an average movie goer being frustrated with it though. It's certainly not for everyone and I'm not trying to be condescending.

Agamemnon said on Wednesday, December 04, 2013 4:20:12 PM
The ones who are not into philosophy and intellectual way of thinking can easily get bored while watching this movie. It gives you arguments about life and makes you connect the scenes in your mind. But of course as an ignorant you can say that the scenes doesn't have any continuity.

P.S. You can watch your lovely cheetahs on National Geographic Channel ;)

matt Montoya said on Wednesday, November 27, 2013 7:21:57 AM
http://www.salon.com/2013/10/26/meet_the_worst_movie_ever_made/
See!! You peole are crazy! This is the worst film ever made and I want my money back!

Dirk Krause said on Thursday, November 07, 2013 8:08:39 AM
Richard, I have to say that after reading your review about The Counselor I had to see the movie to make sure that I'm right about something. That is that I almost always agreed with Roger Ebert's reviews, but so far not many of yours. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but your's makes more of an impact on the public and I believe it is important for you to be honest. To say this movie was an A+ is ridiculous. The movie made very little sense, it was as one scene went to the next without any continuity. I went with 3 other people and we all left there wondering what the heck we just watched. We were going to leave halfway through (which we should have, we could've got our money back) but we watched until the end, and we could hear people around us saying "I think it's over". No one could believe it was over. I left there feeling it was the worst movie I have seen in the last 30 years, seriously. I did love the cheetahs.

 
Comments: 1 - 10 of 35

1 2 3 4 |
   Page: 1 of 4
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS