Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

The Fighter (2010; Rated Rated R)

The Fighter
A+
 

“Deserves multiple Oscar nominations. One of the best movies about boxing I've ever seen.”

-Richard Roeper

The Fighter Review

The Fighter

(2010; R)

In theaters:
Friday, 17 December 2010

Genre:
Biography, Drama, Family, Sport

Cast:
Mark Wahlberg, Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Melissa Leo

COMMENTS(10)
 
Post a Comment
 

Domas said on Monday, March 21, 2011 8:03:25 AM
I wouldn't agree about David O. Russell's direction being pitch perfect. I saw this film day after I saw Andrei Rublev. And such statement would suggest that Tarkovsky is probably above criticism. I missed fluidity in The Fighter and found those music montages being to much and ruining the pace. Agree on everything else.

Kyle said on Tuesday, March 15, 2011 10:48:31 PM
I totally agree with you on this review; this movie was amazing! I saw it the first day it came out and I must get it on DVD. It may even make my Top 40 or 50!!!

Sara said on Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:10:24 PM
I just saw it over the weekend, and I agree with every word you said. This deserves a LOT of Oscars! Christian Bale blew me away. He stole the whole movie, and he completely became Dickey. This is the best role he's had. By the end of the movie, the whole audience was almost on their feet during the last fight. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen.

George B. Feist (Duke) said on Saturday, December 25, 2010 10:59:01 AM
I really enjoyed the movie after its depressing rocky start...Bale should win many awards for this

zack said on Thursday, December 23, 2010 11:39:23 PM
Couldn't agree more with you on this review. I love how you point out some of the humor.

michael said on Tuesday, December 21, 2010 11:43:01 AM
Did you agree with the R rating? I thought it was PG-13 in spite of repeated use of f&$% as an adjective in many forms. Granted there are dysfunctional adults and drug use, but we have that content on several television channels already. Maybe a better questiin would be if the ratings as adults and Hollywood have come to know them are still relevant.

Michael said on Monday, December 20, 2010 10:43:04 PM
Liked the supporting performances and would recommend this film only because of them. I thought the fight scenes were badly shot, the scene in prison where inmates watch Christian Bale's documentary expecting to view a fight with such loose supervision ridiculous, and Mark Wahlberg did nothing to make me care about Irish Mickey Ward, who he portrayed. But there were three fine supporting roles that made the film worth seeing. This film is a slice of life tale like Jerry Macguire, with a much worse lead character but better supporting ones, and Jerry Macguire had good supporting roles.

Stephen said on Monday, December 20, 2010 2:07:33 PM
Hey Richard what did you think of Ebert's review

Brian Christensen said on Friday, December 17, 2010 6:20:06 PM
Mark Wahlberg talks about slapping me out on Conan O'Brien
http://www.tbs.com/video/conan.jsp?oid=238204&eref=sharethisUrl

writingprincess said on Friday, December 17, 2010 6:07:05 PM
Richard you are spot on! The Fighter was the best movie of the year filled with heart, drama, comedy and some amazing performances. Christian Bale's time has come! He has proven that he is one of the greatest. After seeing the real Dicky in an interview I am even more dumbfounded as I couldn't tell the difference between Bale and the real life guy. Amazing, amazing story and performances that spills over with drama but it is the quiet moments, such as the one with Dicky and Alice singing in the car outside the crackhouse that make this film worth seeing. Amazing, amazing beyond 5 stars!

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Garrett Popcorn
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS