Bookmark
 
 
 
 
WeatherTech
 

The Grey (2012)

The Grey
A-
 

“This is much more than a man vs. nature vs. animal thriller. ”

-Richard Roeper

The Grey Review

The Grey

(2012)

In theaters:
Friday, 27 January 2012

Genre:
Action, Adventure, Drama

Cast:
Liam Neeson, Dermot Mulroney, Frank Grillo

COMMENTS(8)
 
Post a Comment
 

Chris said on Wednesday, October 24, 2012 2:56:04 PM
Great review!

As mentioned, this is SO much more than a blizzard-based "creature feature." Thought the screenplay was fantastic and much more of a meditation on mortality... Liam still kicks major butt. The penultimate drowning scene... And what a final shot!! "Once more in to the fray..."

Ed said on Tuesday, August 07, 2012 8:51:23 AM
One of only 2 critics with whom I listen to and read their reviews when seeing or renting a movie. You seem to like movies in a good way, have fun with them and see them the way I do. Unlike most critics, Who have never written anything creative and thrive on selfworth but writing scathing reviews which are neither helpful nor correct. Thanks Richard. Keep up the great work

mac mcrae said on Thursday, February 16, 2012 11:49:13 PM
what amazes me about most reviews of this movie is how luke warm they are. movie reviewers are so jaded. compared to action movies from the 80s this is highart. such beautiful camera work and top notch acting. many movie "classics" like EMPIRE and Romancing the Stone are just laughably bad compared to this.

Brosli said on Thursday, February 16, 2012 1:30:33 PM
Pretty good post. I just sumlbted upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I'll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

Austin Smith said on Monday, January 30, 2012 10:44:51 PM
Hello Mr.Roeper my name is Austin Smith i am a huge fan i have been since 2008. I am 16 years old and i love movies. My love for movies is a bit outrageous.While my friends are out doing other things for amusment on the weekends i stay home and observe new films and go to the movies. I want to pursue my love of movies could you please give me some tips and advice on how i would go about being a critic and writer for my upcoming proffesion, Sincerly, AUSTIN SMITH

Ps:Hopefully Moneyball wins the the oscar for Best Picture it was a remarkable film,but my favorite film of the year was "The Girl with the Dragon tatoo" although the swedish version was a tad better Thank you for your time, AUSTIN SMITH

Austin Smith said on Monday, January 30, 2012 10:24:10 PM
Mr.Roeper i am a huge fan i have been since 2008. I am 16 years old and i love movies. My love for movies is a bit outrageous.While my friends are out doing other things for amusment on the weekends i stay home and observe new films and go to the movies. I wanna pursue my love of movies and become a movie critic one day if u would give me some tips on how i would go about being a critic as my upcoming proffesion, Sincerly, AUSTIN SMITH

Ps:Hopefully Moneyball wins the the oscar for Best Picture it was an amazing film,but my favorite film of the year was "The Girl with the Dragon tatoo" although the swedish version was a tad better Thank you for your time, AUSTIN SMITH

Crazy Davey said on Sunday, January 29, 2012 7:49:56 AM
Love Liam Neeson, I totally want to check this out!

Rotwang27 said on Friday, January 27, 2012 4:01:49 PM
I will probably see this film because it stars Liam Neeson, who is one of my favorite actors (hard to believe he's almost 60). The one caveat to seeing "The Grey" is the portrayal of the wolves. Man has virtually eradicated the wolf around the world-it only survives in small pockets, and even there is being persecuted (Alaska is an example). Yet here it is shown as a kind of malevolent monster, actively pursing humans as prey. The real monsters are humans-not the wolf. One only hopes viewers of this movie will not react to it as they did "Jaws" in the 1970s, which saw untold numbers of sharks massacred as a result.

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
  indicates required field
Name:  
Email:  
Website:  
YouTube
Response URL:
   ?
     
Comment:  
     
Enter text as shown:  
     


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS