Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

Thor (2011; Rated Rated PG-13)

Thor
A
 

“"Thor” is the most entertaining superhero debut since the original Spiderman. ”

-Richard Roeper

Thor Review

Thor

(2011; PG-13)

In theaters:
Friday, 6 May 2011

Genre:
Action, Adventure, Drama, Fantasy

Cast:
Chris Hemsworth, Anthony Hopkins, Natalie Portman

COMMENTS(20)
 
Post a Comment
 

Ted said on Saturday, July 07, 2012 10:46:01 PM
Mr. Roeper,

I watched Thor again this week and was amazed how much I enjoyed it the second time. Your review was spot on. After watching the Avengers this summer, which I also enjoyed, it reflects a glow back to Thor, Captain America, and the Iron Man movies. Disapointed that the Hulk movies were so very disconnected from the Avengers Hulk. There are three different Hulks and three different David Banners. It would have been great if they could have stayed with at least the same David Banner between the Incredible Hulk and the Avengers. Anyway, Thor still shines.

Sorin said on Thursday, August 11, 2011 3:07:52 PM
What about this one?!

Rusty said on Saturday, July 23, 2011 12:52:35 AM
I can just laugh at all these bitter DC fanboys questioning why Thor got a better review than Green Lantern. GL's box office take has been taking a nosedive since opening day, that should tell you that it's a bad film. Thor on the other hand is being very resilient and is still performing admirably on a daily basis (even if it's not a huge blockbuster as Iron Man or Spider-Man).

Some of the people here just do not get the story. One commented that "Thor grew up in the span of two days, a few chats with Jane, a beer with her boss, and bam, full circle". This is laughable. Thor realized he has been wrong the whole time, how(?), well, from being the son of the All-Father, and heir to the throne of Asgard, he got banished from the Realm Eternal, he was stripped of his powers, then, when he was so sure that he can reclaim his hammer, he fails to lift it, and right there and then, he was struck with the reality that he was no longer worthy. After his arrest by Shield, Loki tells him that because of his thoughtless actions, Asgard was again on the brink of a war with Jotunheim, and that plus the All-Father's disappointment of his son, it was too much for Odin, and killed him. Bam! Right there, he realized he was wrong, and wanted to change. Being banished, stripped of his being, being unworthy of Mjolnir and the thought that he was responsible for his father's death were the reasons why he came "full circle". Not the chats with Jane, nor his drunk conversation with Selvig.

And about Thor and Jane's "romance". From the start there was instant attraction by them both. Check out Darcy's reaction with Thor and Jane's conversation. It's subtle, but it's there. Darcy knew that both Jane and Thor had some sort of connection. When Jane was in self-doubt,Thor encouraged her, reassured her that she was right, and to never give up. Then during the film's climax, Thor sacrificed himself, and while he was in her arms, all he could say that "at last you are safe". Wow. So, Jane is physically attracted to Thor (the guy is 6'6, blonde, built like a linebacker), who is supportive of her work, and he unflinchingly sacrificed his life so she will be safe...hmmmmm...people have been in-love for a lot less! Some just nit picks everything.

Anyway, kudos Mr. Roeper, I enjoy all of your reviews.

Ian said on Tuesday, July 05, 2011 5:02:04 PM
While I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it, I think you were a little too nice. I think there is plenty of cheesiness to the movie. I also think that while Portman and Hemsworth both do an excellent job, their chemistry just isn't the greatest. Good movie, but I think it was more a B to B+ effort than an A.

Joe said on Monday, July 04, 2011 5:12:52 AM
How can this movie get a better grade than X-Men First Class?

Scott said on Sunday, July 03, 2011 8:53:46 AM
Really? An A? You're being paid off now-a-days aren't you? You've either achieved satirical genious or a head injury.

Missy said on Friday, June 24, 2011 3:18:49 PM
Your answer was just what I ndeeed. It?s made my day!

Eric said on Tuesday, June 21, 2011 2:20:49 PM
Great review! I wholeheartedly agree with Roeper. This movie was fantastic. Hemsworth/Hiddleston both had breakout performances. Hopkins is solid as always and Portman although under utilized is charming in her role. The romance was not forced at all and there was actual chemistry. Branagh's film honored its source material but did not try to take itself too seriously. To my impressions, Ebert's problems are more with Stan Lee and Marvel's amalgam of comic and Norse mythology and his scathing review do this picture a grave injustice. To each his own. I've seen it 3 times already. Most fun I've had at the theater all summer.

Karan said on Friday, June 17, 2011 3:39:55 PM
Well,Green Lantern was in every way better than Thor,in portrayal of the mythology & in terms of pacing.Your ratings are just weird.Pretty sure Marvel bribed reviewers.

Reply from Richard Roeper
Karan:

I eagerly await your proof that "Marvel bribed film reviewers."

Sincerely,

Richard

Richard Roeper said on Friday, May 13, 2011 3:57:23 PM
News Hit:

Wrong. I gave the first Spiderman a glowing review. I never said I preferred Daredevil to Spiderman.

Best,

Richard

 
Comments: 1 - 10 of 20

1 2 |
   Page: 1 of 2
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Garrett Popcorn
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS