Sports Terminal

Thor: Dark World (2013; Rated Rated PG-13)

Thor: Dark World

“ When the battles kicked in, semi-yawn. We’ve seen it all before.”

-Richard Roeper

Written Review


Thor: Dark World

(2013; PG-13)

In theaters:
Friday, 8 November 2013

Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Alan Taylor

Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston

Post a Comment

Flizsaid on Tuesday, February 11, 2014 8:43:18 PM
I have to agree with the other comments as far as enjoying your reviews. I have disagreed on many in the past, but what the heck, it's not worth losing sleep over how anyone likes or dislikes a movie. Now I personally loved this film and saw it 6 times in the theater. Yes, I'm 60 years old and read all the comics when I was a kid. I truly feel that Marvel has the recipe for making great super hero movies. I'm looking forward to Capt. America 2, Antman/Giantman, Avengers 2, reboot of Fantastic Four and hopefully a Hulk with Mark Ruffalo. Pure entertainment at it's best!

Ryan Downssaid on Tuesday, November 26, 2013 7:59:14 PM
What about Man of Steel was cool?

Crazy Daveysaid on Wednesday, November 20, 2013 8:08:05 PM
First Man Of Steel, now this?!?!... what happened to you Roeper? You used to be cool *sigh*

Reply from Richard Roeper

So if we disagree on a couple of movies, I'm not cool? Come on, I still think you're cool for visiting the site and expressing your opinion!



Johnsaid on Friday, November 15, 2013 1:27:40 AM
I've always found Thor to be the WEAKEST of the Avengers(Hawk Eye & Black Widow included)so I'm not surprised one bit by this review. And what's the obsession with this Tom Hiddleston guy? I mean, enough of him already! Is Thor that damn dull and boring a superhero he needs this guy to make him seem somewhat interesting?

Artinesaid on Friday, November 08, 2013 2:52:01 AM
Richard, I've enjoyed watching your reviews for the past few years now and almost always agree with you say (especially your review of the relatively disappointing Man of Steel this past summer...yes, I am a longtime devout Superman admirer!). I thought Thor 2 was quite better than Man of Steel (which you gave a C+ where I would've gone with C) - I would rate Thor 2 a B...not so lighthearted and humorous as the first Thor and the dialog was not as well written but still an engaging story and eventful sequel with pleasant twists. You're still the man though Richard!

Brendansaid on Friday, November 08, 2013 2:24:02 AM
So, when you saw Thor you believed he could hold his own movie, and even gave the movie an A. Now he's better letting someone else take the lead...why the change in opinion? The most critical thing you said in your review was that the special effects were sometimes silly and some of the action is redundant. I don't completely see in your review why Thor could hold his own movie before and why this movie convinced you otherwise.

Don't take this as nerd hating, I actually was more critical of the first Thor movie than you were. I find your reviews to be a breath of fresh air, and usually understand why you liked/disliked a movie, even though I might disagree. I'm lost as to your central criticism of this movie, however, unless you changed your mind about Thor himself since the first movie. Even then, I really don't get why.

Davidsaid on Thursday, November 07, 2013 11:52:54 PM
Hi Richard. Love your reviews and always respect your criticism. While I do agree with you on some points here I still found the film to be entertaining enough to warrant my recommendation. At least a grade B. Yeah, it took a while to find it's footing story-wise and the villain and his master plan felt a tad too been there, blown up that. Still loved Tom Hiddleston and the rest of the cast was good too with some clever humor and fun action.




 indicates required field
Response URL:
Enter text as shown:  

NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
Nuts on Clark
©2015 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved
Powered by
Web site design and development by