Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

Transcendence (2014; Rated Rated PG-13)

Transcendence
A
 

“Bold, beautiful, sometimes confounding flight of futuristic speculation firmly rooted in the potential of today‚Äôs technology.”

-Richard Roeper

Transcendence Review

Transcendence

(2014; PG-13)

In theaters:
Friday, 18 April 2014

Genre:
Drama, Mystery, Science Fiction

Director:
Wally Pfister

Cast:
Johnny Depp, Rebecca Hall, Morgan Freeman

COMMENTS(8)
 
Post a Comment
 

Joe said on Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:01:30 AM
Please Richard, update your website! So many of us use iPads or iPhones etc, and your Flash videos are not viewable. Flash is outdated and I'm sure you would like us mobile users to see your reviews too!

Daniel Prinn said on Sunday, May 25, 2014 12:02:41 AM
Hi Richard,

I don't really agree with the review because I was a bit disappointed by the film. Well, I do agree with the idea that you have to either go with the film or not. I gave it a 5/10, so I didn't hate it but I didn't love it, either.

I read your review on Chicago Sun-Times (I'm a big fan of yours, I think you're very witty and you're one of my inspirations to be a film critic), and even though you give it 4 stars out of 4, I'm earnestly curious as to why this is an 'A' and not an 'A+'?

Anyway, keep up the good work. It's fun to disagree with your views sometimes :)

Spud Spunkmieir said on Thursday, May 08, 2014 7:20:15 AM
This proves Mr. Roeper is paid to do good reviews for complete garbage F- movies like this nonsensical trash.

AM said on Sunday, May 04, 2014 3:46:23 PM
The film was quite a surprise, especially when I went to see it with no expectations, based on bad reviews it got. Maybe because I didn't expect much. It's a beautiful film.

Unplug said on Friday, May 02, 2014 4:45:12 PM
NO NO NO!!!!!! Transendance is nothing more than a mash up of "Wargames", "Her", and the "Cowboy Bepob" episode "Brain Scratch". The show also makes a clear rip from Bepob when Depp if flying in the internet. Rod Sterling and Bradbury would laugh so hard at this movie.

Sandy said on Monday, April 21, 2014 11:54:00 AM
Great, great movie! You'll love this if you enjoy movies that explore the possible results of combining great minds.....visionaries......with technology.

Chris Michaels said on Saturday, April 19, 2014 4:31:43 PM
Here's a circumstance where I place value on Richard's review (and Turan) above the consensus, and will invest to see the film. Will advise.

Jason said on Friday, April 18, 2014 12:26:03 AM
Do you think Roger would have enjoyed this movie

Reply from Richard Roeper
yes.

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
Name:
(required)
Email:
(required, will not be published)
Website:
YouTube
Response URL:
 ?
Comment:  
Please input the text and numbers that you see in the image into the following box.
Security Code: captcha


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Garrett Popcorn
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS