Bookmark
 
 
 
 
Sports Terminal
 

You Again (2010; Rated Rated PG)

You Again
F
 

“Fails in every way imaginable. Razzies, anyone?”

-Richard Roeper

You Again Review

You Again

(2010; PG)

In theaters:
Friday, 24 September 2010

Genre:
Comedy, Family, Romance

Cast:
Kristen Bell, Sigourney Weaver, Betty White, Jamie Lee Curtis, Odette Yusman

COMMENTS(10)
 
Post a Comment
 

Joe McCabe said on Wednesday, December 29, 2010 11:07:12 AM
I couldn't agree with Richard more about this film. In fact, it was so terrible, that it led me to actually go and seek out reviews, JUST to see if others found it as absurd as I did.

For me, the biggest problem with the film from a storyline standpoint, is that it feels as if it was written by someone who is STILL in high school. After all, who as an adult, still carries on this way about high school rivalries? As we mature and experience far more pressing real world issues, the "who did what to whom" aspect of high school becomes so far removed, that it's hardly memorable. However, You Again casts that entire concept aside, not once, not twice, but three times in total.

As for Jan's comments that you have to be a 20 year old girl, and not a 50 year old man, to make the connection....that's precisely the point. Being far removed from high school affords one the ability to put things into perspective, and THAT is why this film is completely implausible from the outset. If you were just promoted to Vice President of a P.R. firm in New York City, do you really think you would be so entrenched in old high school feelings? It's laughable.

Now, I could go in to how this film was completely void of humor, how the Joanna character was completely inconsistent throughout the entire film, RIGHT up until the end. How utilizing the current popularity of Betty White and Cloris Leachman was such a transparent ploy at an attempt to add some "hipness" to the film that it too was laughable....but what would be the point?

I've been debating with myself since viewing this abortion last night, whether it was actually worse than "The Sweetest Thing", but still haven't come to a conclusion.
I'm gonna try to stop thinking about it now, because I feel this film has taken more from me than it ever had a right to.

Mitch said on Monday, November 08, 2010 12:19:04 PM
I don't want to troll, so I am not going to. All I will say is that this movie is garbage. And I assume anyone who liked it would also like watching a wall with flashing colors, because that's all this movie is. It surprises me that when studios produce movies this horrible, people do not punish them by not watching them. Rather studios can produce literally any type of crappy movie, and then make their money back as long as they throw one or two stars in to get the audience. I know I sound old when I say this, but what is the world coming to...

kelly said on Thursday, October 28, 2010 11:43:20 AM
i love this movie and it kept me guessing

Bob Wilkinson said on Wednesday, October 13, 2010 3:08:22 PM
I found it decent, reviewers always tend to over-exaggerate tiny minuscule problems with long lengthy reasons to make them seem cool and funny. epic fail dude! epic fail!

Joe said on Friday, October 01, 2010 1:29:10 PM
haha, wow, nice job, Jan. Your little tirade brought you the attention of the man himself. Wasn't expecting that, were you? I'm seriously on the floor laughing right now. HAHAHAHA!!!

Richard said on Sunday, September 26, 2010 1:33:25 PM
So let me get this straight: if I disagree with you, I'm a "fool"? In that case, 87 percent of the critics that have reviewed this movie are "fools." Nearly every respected professional critic in the country has recognized his film for being a failure on every level.

However, that doesn't mean I think you're a fool or even wrong. If you enjoyed the movie, good for you. I'm fully aware of "the motives behind why a studio would produce a movie and who the targeted audience is." I'm not the target audience for "Eat, Pray, Love" or the most recent "Twilight" movie, but I enjoyed and appreciated both of those films. (But hey, thanks for the lesson in "one of the basic things you learn when becoming a reviewer." I've only been doing this for 10 years and about 2,000 movies. Never knew that!)

Thanks for coming to the sight, and I'm sincerely glad you enjoyed "You Again." All I can do is give my honest reaction to movies, and in this case I cringed throughout the film.

Best,

Richard

Jan said on Sunday, September 26, 2010 10:16:42 AM
Richard Roper is a fool if he thinks that this movie is a fail. One of the basic things you learn when becoming a reviewer is to take into consideration the motives behind why a studio would produce a movie and who the targeted audience is. This movie is not meant to have you on the edge of your seat not knowing what twist will be next or scare you or even make you question your existence; it is meant to be a light 1.5 hour escape into a fun place where happily ever after exists. The movie does accomplish this and the theater full of girls and their moms and older couples, who I saw the movie with, were laughing aloud throughout the whole thing. So could it be possible that the humor was targeted towards us and not towards Mr. Roeper, heaven forbid! This movie actually did more than I expected and I was surprised by how touched I was by the way I connected to the women in the film, but I'm guessing you have to be a 20 year old girl and not a 50 year old man to feel that connection.
I must also say that was floored by how convincingly Kristen Bell played the dorky Marni. My greatest fear going in was that such a natural beauty and charming person would be totally unconvincing as a social reject and thus ruin the movie. The opposite is true as her performance is completely endearing and very believable. I think that is what makes this movie so awesome!
All in all You Again is a wonderfully casted and directed movie which made laugh and left me feeling a sense of satisfaction and empowerment. I highly recommend this movie to every person who ever went to high school because the feelings, although exaggerated for film, are honest and ring very true. I plan on adding this movie to my dvd's as an awesome girls night in or rainy Saturday afternoon addition.

Rob said on Sunday, September 26, 2010 12:36:49 AM
Way off the mark, IMO. Yes the film relies a bit too heavily on pratfalls at times, but it had me laughing my ass off. How could you not love Tim? The only disappointment was that Betty White's talents weren't put to better use.

SS said on Saturday, September 25, 2010 11:36:09 PM
this movie SUCKED! the script was horrible, we thought it was gunna be better, it wasnt eww

George Waldman said on Saturday, September 25, 2010 8:48:04 PM
Rich,
So, do you think Kristen Bell will win the Razzie for Worst Actress, considering that she's in not one, but TWO of the worst movies this year?
You are right about them being nice people in real life because I met Kristen on two different occasions and she is a real and genuinely nice person.

Thank you,
George Waldman
TheMatrix72370@yahoo.com

 
 
POST A COMMENT
 
 
  indicates required field
Name:  
Email:  
Website:  
YouTube
Response URL:
   ?
     
Comment:  
     
Enter text as shown:  
     


NOTE: Your comment will be approved before it is posted.
 
 
 
Nuts on Clark
 
Related Links
Chicago Sun-Times   |   Rotten Tomatoes   |   Hulu   |   Hollywood.com   |   IMDB.com   |   Filmmaking.net   |   TV.com   |   Filmspotting   |   perezhilton   |   ReelzChannel
©2014 Richard Roeper. All Right Reserved | Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Questions and Comments   |   Site Map   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use   |   RSS